Tickets start at just $35 and are on sale now!

Call the Kravis Center Box Office at 561.832.7469 or purchase online.


Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
The Firebird Suite


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Symphony No. 6, B minor, Op. 74


April 13, 2017 Pre-Concert Lecture with Assistant Conductor, Johann Guzman, at 6:45 PM Performance at 7:30 PM

Doors Open 15 minutes prior to Pre-Concert Lecture


$50.00 – $100.00 (orchestra)
$50.00 – $125.00 (grand tier)
$35.00 – $100.00 (loge)

Call 561.832.7469 or purchase online


Kravis Center for the Performing Arts


Russian composers, especially those of Tchaikovsky’s generation, were determined to come out from under the shadows of the Western Europeans who had dominated their field for centuries. The ascent of Russian music was staggering in its speed and power, and in a few short decades these interlopers from the East became the most envied figures in music. One path was that of Tchaikovsky, who fashioned himself as a cosmopolitan composer; his Sixth Symphony is a worldly work that links directly back to the symphonic traditions of Beethoven. Less than 20 years later, Stravinsky ventured out into the world with the opposite approach, embracing his Russianness in a wild, untamed ballet score. Rachmaninoff found his own delicate balance between the past and the future, and he kept the flame of Russian Romantic music burning all through the tumult and displacement of the early 20th century.

By Aaron Grad

Ramón Tebar

Artistic & Music Director


© Copyright 2016 - Palm Beach Symphony